Edit/lock/unlock file | idgard®

Edit/lock/unlock file

Edit/lock/unlock file

If you want to change the contents of a file and then make it available to other Box members, you should lock the file beforehand. When the modification is complete, upload the file back to the box and unlock the file. A locked file signals to other Box members who are modifying the contents of the file. A locked file can be downloaded by other Box members, but cannot be moved, renamed, or deleted.  To edit a file, you need the right to read, write, and delete.



Proceed as follows:

  1. Open the 3-dot menu on the right in the line of the file.
  2. Select the "Lock file"/"Unlock file" function.
Download the file and edit the contents. When this file is uploaded again, it overwrites the locked file if it has the same name. To signal to others that editing is complete, unlock the file afterwards. 

This article did not answer your question?

We are happy to help you! Just send us a message with your questions and we will get back to you as soon as possible. 

   Create ticket



Disclaimer
The content of this online help is intended solely for information and documentation purposes for our product idgard® and can be changed at any time without prior notice. We assume no responsibility or liability for errors or inaccuracies. Due to technical developments, uniscon GmbH reserves the right to change the functional scope of the product at any time.


(C) uniscon GmbH