idgard® Office Add-in:Lock/unlock file

idgard® Office Add-in:Lock/unlock file

If you want to change the contents of a file and then make it available to other Box members, you should lock the file beforehand. When the modification is complete, upload the file back to the box and unlock the file. A locked file signals to other Box members who are modifying the contents of the file. A locked file can be downloaded by other Box members, but cannot be moved, renamed, or deleted.  To edit a file, you need the right to read, write, and delete.



Proceed as follows:
  1. Log in to idgard® via the Office Add-in. 
  2. Change to the directory of the file.
  3. Click on the lock symbol  in the line of the file to lock or unlock it.

This article did not answer your question?

We are happy to help you! Just send us a message with your questions and we will get back to you as soon as possible. 

   Create ticket



Disclaimer
The content of this online help is intended solely for information and documentation purposes for our product idgard® and can be changed at any time without prior notice. We assume no responsibility or liability for errors or inaccuracies. Due to technical developments, uniscon GmbH reserves the right to change the functional scope of the product at any time.

(C) uniscon GmbH
    • Recent Articles

    • Reporting illegal content

      The Digital Services Act (DSA) is an important tool for reporting problematic or harmful content in the digital space. It allows users to report potential violations of the DSA, helping to create a safer and more responsible online environment. Here ...
    • Data room archive

      In some professions it is necessary to archive documents. For this purpose, you can create a data room archive with idgard. This data room is available forever after conversion into an archive and thus secures all documents in this data room. This is ...
    • Delete multiple users at the same time

      In the user administration, you can delete multiple user accounts at the same time using batch actions. Which users you can delete depends on your own permissions and on the permissions of the users whose user accounts you would like to delete. To ...
    • Change the user status for multiple users at the same time

      In the user administration, you can deactivate multiple activated user accounts or reactivate multiple deactivated user accounts at the same time. Regardless of which users you select, the batch options are only performed for those users for whom ...
    • Manage permissions for multiple users at the same time

      In the user administration, you can change permissions for multiple users at the same time. Which permissions you can grant or modify depends on your own permissions and on the permissions of the users whose user accounts you would like to edit. To ...
    • Related Articles

    • idgard® Office Add-in: Save file from computer to a box

      If you want to store locally created or locally existing files in idgard®, you can use the second of the two idgard® buttons in the start menu of the office applications. Proceed as follows: Open the file on your computer. Click the "Save As" button. ...
    • idgard® Office Add-In:Introduction

      Given you are a Microsoft Office user, i. e., you work with Word, PowerPoint or Excel. There are many files which you wish to exchange regularly with co-workers or external parties; or modify in common, as a team. Or you want to be able to access the ...
    • idgard® Office Add-in:Requirements

      To be able to save and open documents in idgard®, the following requirements must be met: ·         You must be created in idgard® via a full license. ·         You must be a member of an existing box. ·         You need at least the read and write ...
    • idgard® Office Add-in: General Tab

      To open the settings, click on the “cog" icon on the login screen or in the idgard® Office Add-in. Proceed as follows: Due to a system change please leave the top checkbox unchecked. Click in the checkbox "Auto Update" you always work with the ...
    • idgard® Office Add-in: Log in and log out

      After you have installed the idgard® Office Add-in, it is integrated in all Office programs. When you open an office program you will see the idgard® Office Add-in in the bar at the top. To log in to idgard®, click on one of the buttons of the Office ...
    • Popular Articles

    • Folder upload - behaviors and limitations

      Unsupported characters in file names will be replaced by an underscore during the upload process, this applies to these characters: *, /, \, ?, :, <, >, ^, ", &, | Example: M&A_Overview.xlsx will be renamed to: M_A_Overview.xlsx File names that ...
    • Uploading files

      Uploading files You can upload one or more files up to a size of 5 GB. For a fee, we can increase the size limit of 5 GB for you. You can only upload files with the "Write" permission. There are two methods with which you can upload files to a box. ...
    • View box activities in the journal

      In data rooms and depending on the setting, certain activities can be registered in a journal. You can view the data room journal if you have the permission to do so. To view box activities in the journal: 1. Open the data room the journal of which ...
    • Welcome to the idgard® online help

      Welcome to the idgard® online help This online help is the main source of information for learning and working with idgard®. Click on one of the following links to obtain further information about idgard®. To use the online help: Search article Enter ...
    • Isn't encryption on the device the best bet for a safe cloud?

      Isn't encryption on the device the best bet for a safe cloud? The term „cloud computing“ encompasses two aspects: Data storage in a cloud for one’s self, excluding multiple or third-party access. Data processing or storage of information in a cloud, ...